Frames for Asian Faces, FINALLY!

saltframes

I’ve been on the prowl for a new pair of glasses and on the way came across a concept that was so entirely new to me that it pretty much forever changed the way I’ll shop for eyewear now. I walked into a recommended eyewear shop in San Francisco and tried on a few frames while the salesman looked on. As I put down a pair he walked up to me and said, “Oh, I knew those wouldn’t look good on you, what you need is to come over here. The ones in this case will be perfect for you. These are made by a Japanese designer”

Ok, I thought…well, here we go, some white guy thinks this Chinese girl is Japanese—great. WELL, little did I know he was going to school me in a seriously awesome way. He hands me a pair, and I slip them on. So comfortable, the right size, the right profile. I turn to him with this look of incredulous bliss.

He says, “You know why those are so great? Because they’re made for low-bridge faces. Asians often have a low-bridge while caucasian faces have high bridges.”

picture-9Did you just hear that little *poof* ? That was Ann’s world transformed by this man’s magic knowledge. He went on to explain that most of the designer frames that exist in all stores and boutiques are created by Caucasian people who have high-bridges. I just kept nodding my head in agreement. I tried on a few more before I eventually walked out empty handed. (I wasn’t ready to drop $700 on frames) But I left emboldened by this whole new perspective on shopping for my eyewear. 

So of course I go home and google “Eyewear for Asian Faces”. And to my surprise, Oakley Asian-Fit Eyewear pops up first in the results! After doing a little bit more googling I discover that lots of personal blogs have threads evangelizing certain brands (Kio Yamato: O&X) for their great fit on Asian faces.

I went to the O&X website only to discover they don’t say anything about how their frames fit great on Asian faces. So then I go on a mad search to see if ANY designers talk about an “Asian-fit”, and I come up with almost nothing. I sit back, and think, damn, that’s a great opportunity for ANY company creating eyeglass frames. Especially if you can get away with charging $700…just let that simmer for a sec. $700!!

Target the asian population and you’ll got a wealth of growth opportunities there. OK, so Oakley has got the sportswear and sunglasses covered, but what about optical eyewear? Calling all eyewear designers! Ethnic profiling for eyewear could do wonders in your biz. Just think about all the price points you could offer—from standard to luxury bespoke. I know at least one low-bridge gal that would certainly appreciate it.

This entry was posted in Business, Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Frames for Asian Faces, FINALLY!

  1. Pingback: Topics about Asians » Blog Archive » Frames for Asian Faces, FINALLY!

  2. alex says:

    Hi Ann:

    I’ll be launching the very first Asian Fitting Eyewear Collection in about a month, and you will not be paying $700 per pair, right here at San Francisco Bay Area.

    I t will be a collection that targets specifically to the Asian population of the North America, including sunglasses and opthalmic frames.

    I’ll keep you posted.

    Alex

  3. Pingback: Asian Fit or Miss « duende

  4. Alex says:

    Hi Ann:

    The shipment is here!!! As my very first collection, I have 10 sunglass models and 5 optical frames.So far, the responses have been great! Check out the wesite where you can see all the models. I definately hope that you could find a model or two that you’d like. Spread the word! Let every Asian person you know about the collection!!

    Have a greatday and please let me know about your comments.

    Alex

    • annmaryliu says:

      I’m SO EXCITED that this line exists, they’re looking really great (tc-charton.com)! Clean, stylish yet classic. On a side note, I used to work in San Mateo and go to Dr. Lin at the Peninsula Eye Physicians where you’re selling the line. What a small world! It’s too bad I’m not there anymore (I’m in grad school in Baltimore now). Hopefully I can see them on a visit soon. Keep me updated on how your line progresses, I’ll spread the word and I definitely want to be notified when more models come out

  5. steve says:

    There are a few brands that make asian fit frames, i believe nike, coach and fendi have styles with asian fit

  6. Pingback: Glasses. « Urocyon's Meanderings

  7. Marla says:

    I knew I wasn’t the only one dealing with not being able to pick up just any pair of eyeglass frames and have them fit. I just saw a few Coach brand styles that are indeed made for an Asian fit. I just did a cursory search for Asian fit eyewear and have not yet come across any other brands that specify this except for the TC Charton, O & X and Oakley. This will be great to have more choices available. Would like to see what Nike has to offer and will be calling some of the optical shops soon.

  8. Karen says:

    You can now order plastic Converse glasses with “alternative fit”. My ophthalmologist just told me about this, so I’m definitely ordering a pair!

  9. Pingback: Finding Glasses—again | duende

  10. Darcy says:

    Your style is unique compared to other folks I have
    read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this web site.

  11. Veronica says:

    I’m not Asian but I must have a low-bridge, or an extremely narrow one! Glasses have been sitting on my cheeks since I first got glasses. I found Asian Fit frames last summer and I couldn’t be a happier camper! I need sunglasses that aren’t Oakley, so I’m on a hunt as well.

    • kaz says:

      Hi there Veronica
      You are not alone… although I have a “typical” caucasian high bridge, I too have a very narrow bridge and the “Asian fit” frames have been a revelation to me…. haven’t found the frames I like though. I still have the problem of the ones that suit me the best do not come in a narrow bridge size. If i was looking for metal frames, this wouldn’t be such an issue, however I want acetate and there are still very few styles / correct sizes combos for me to choose from.

  12. Angela Cui says:

    I had a similar experience as you– was looking for a new pair of glasses and went to my local eyewear shop, and I ended up learning that low-bridge-fit glasses were a thing. That led me to countless Google searches and hunting down brands that offered them.

    I’ve been buying from multiple brands that offer “Asian fit” frames, but my favorite has to be Covry (shopcovry.com). I even switched out the sunglass lenses for prescription ones, which I wear on a daily basis :)

Leave a Reply

