First Days

balimer

It always feels the same for me. A small flip in the stomach, a little dryness in the throat and away I go! We had Orientation for all the Graduate students at MICA on Monday. I know that I’ll be squirreled away in my studio with the rest of the GD MFA Candidates this year, so it was great to see all the other programs, meet some people from different concentrations in the school, and get a birds eye view of the campus. The president even came to talk to us all decked out in his bow-tie. Polka dotted, at that.

Highlights:

  • The Graphic Design Studio in the Brown Center is brand new and HUGE. Got a desk, got a view, and it’s all good.
  • Ellen Lupton hosted a BBQ for all us 1 & 2nd yrs at her house. That place can make anyone simultaneously drool and giggle with sheer delight.
  • My fellow 1st years are exceptionally nice people from all walks of life: 1 from Thailand, 1 from Mississippi, 1 from CA: et. al 12 total, Love the spread.
  • The 2nd years are excited for the year to begin, so I take that as a very good sign!

Everyone is open, down-to-earth, and that makes me feel a lot less of those stomach flips. I just secured a Teaching Internship position and I’ll be helping out on a undergraduate class in Graphic Design One. This is the main reason I went back to grad school—to teach. Super excited for a new city, new people and a new program.

Also, I’ve also learned that I live in “balimer” not “BAL-TI-MORE”. ha!

This entry was posted in Graduate School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Days

  1. DDM3 says:

    I hear the Brown Center is quite nice. I need to head over there and check it out.

  2. I think that this will most positively be one of the best experiences of our lives. I can’t wait to get started next Monday!!

Leave a Reply

