Work Process: Swatch 1

Our first assignment in Studio is to create 3, 8.5″ x 11″ swatches that represent us as designers. I’ve always been attracted to patterns, so I decided to create “Mandalas” of myself. In the strict sense, a Mandala is a geometric figure representing the universe in Hindu and Buddhist symbolism. There are geometric figures that symbolize my world. I chose government icons as my base because I want to transform a boring standard into whimsical fun. It’s been awhile since I did a project that was strictly based on aesthetics and it took me a while to warm-up. It’s nice to be back at it. Here’s the progression of my Mandala swatch over the last few days.

Picture 10

Each set of Mandalas represent a hobby or interest. I quickly learned that I had a lot of flexibility with them and started playing around.

Picture 3

Picture 5

I have been creating more Mandalas and trying to find a way to bring depth to the page. I like way the line weights effect the perspective.

Picture 8

I really admire beautiful line work so I switched everything to a thin stroke. Unfortunately, it was not such a pretty sight.

Picture 6

I returned to filled colors, and used color to create depth. Also wasn’t working—it looks like fruit salad. blegh.

Picture 7

So I went back to black. The heavy fills of the people are really nice mixed in with the wire hangers, but I need more depth.

Picture 9

This is where it stands right now and I’m a LOT happier. I like the layering and transparency as well as the more dramatic spacing within each Mandala because it makes it look so much more inviting. It seems more playful, which is definitely what I’m going for. I’m excited to work on it, which means I am definitely on the right direction.

This entry was posted in Design Assignment, GD MFA, Graphic Design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

