Work Process: 2 more swatches

Picture 9

Continuing to create “swatches” that express our personal design aesthetic and personality, I added 2 more to the 3 we were assigned. The one below is my favorite because I hand-crafted all of the envelopes cutting out a brown paper bag for the exterior and old magazines for the inside liners. Each one is about 1.25″ x 1″.  I titled this one “Like, Oh My God” because I have a bad habit of sounding like a valley girl most of the time. The text is there because I also love me some good gossip. Ellen pointed out that I should make the type feel more integrated into the envelopes, so that’ll be my next move.

Final

For my other swatch I looked to an old celestial map print for inspiration and I laid out the line work for “Mapping Ann”. I’m not happy with it because it still feels like it’s missing something. I think after studio crits and feedback from everyone on Monday, I’ll have a better idea of how to move forward.

Ann_2small

You can see the development of my 1st swatch on my previous post, and view the full set here on my Flickr account

This entry was posted in Design Assignment, GD MFA, Graphic Design and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

